Lesson 19: If You Can Concieve It You Can Achieve It

Standard

“All things are created twice; first mentally; then physically.  The key to creativity is to begin with the end in mind, with a vision and a blueprint of the desired result”

Stephen Covey

 

Several years ago I read the above quote in Stephen Covey’s The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People.  I remembered it throughout the years, but it wasn’t until I undertook a project that I envisioned and made a reality this week, that the quote really resonated with me. In January of this year, I wrote in my journal that I wanted to create inspirational artwork to decorate my house.  I gave myself the deadline of completing this project by April 2017.

Today is April 15, 2017 and I finished the project on April 12th.  I created 5 canvas paintings for my living area and 3 for my bathroom to remind me to stay positive.  I learned many lessons about moving from conception of an idea to achievement that I want to share with you.

Lessons from Conception to Achievement:

  • Write your vision down: I not only wrote in my journal what I wanted to accomplish, but I was very specific.  I wrote down the phrases I wanted on each canvas, I sketched how I wanted them to look, I even arranged them on a page in an order of how I wanted them to be on my walls.  It’s important to be as specific as possible and to give yourself a deadline.  If you’ve read the book Write it Down Make It Happen by Henriette Anne Klauser, then you know the power of writing down your goals.
  • Take Baby Steps Often: Rome wasn’t built in a day.  When you are working on your goals and dreams take small steps toward your goals.  This helps you to see progress and makes attainment more manageable. One day I bought my canvases, paint brushes and easel.  Another day I bought my paint.  On Monday I sketched my designs on the canvases, Tuesday I painted the pictures for the living area, and Wednesday I painted the bathroom pictures, made final touch-ups to all paintings, and hung them on the walls.  
  • Realize the Process: It is a process from going from conception to reality. Just as when a woman is pregnant, it takes nine months for her baby to grow and develop.  It will be a process for you to birth whatever your vision is.  My “bright idea” to create my art, took many “ all day adventures.”  This is the term I use when an event takes an extremely long amount of time.  It took me several days and hours to create my paintings and hang them on the walls.
  • Express Gratitude: When I finished all of my paintings and saw them hanging on the wall, I was in awe.  I felt so blessed that God gave me the vision, the tools and time to create it, and the will to carry it through.  I thought to myself that my paintings showed “the dopeness that is Tanika Monique.” God blessed me with a dope gift that I used to beautify my home.  I was proud of myself of course, but more importantly I was grateful to God for blessing me in such a great way. I don’t know what you believe in.  But once you achieve your goal, be grateful that you did that!

 

 

Let me know in the comment section below what dreams have you made a reality.  I wish you all the best.  

Love Always,
Tanika Monique

Always & Forever

Forever & Always

Leave a Reply

