Lesson #14: You Look Better When You Smile

Standard

“Smile though your heart is aching,

Smile even though it’s breaking”

Charlie Chaplin

I love the song Smile by Charlie Chaplin.  My favorite version of the song is when Janelle Monae covered the song.  You can be having the worst day of your life, but smiling can help you improve your mood and make you look better. It may not change the circumstances that you are going through, but it can give you a glimmer of hope that things will be alright.

 

The other day, before I went to work, I took these two pictures because I was feeling myself.  The first picture I took with a straight face.  Then I decided to take the second picture with a smile.  When I saw the second image I immediately thought I look better with a smile on my face.  That inspired me to want to share this message with you.  Since taking the picture I made it my wallpaper on my phone.  When I feel discouraged I just look at my phone and instantly feel better.  I’m grateful to God for giving me a reason to smile.

In Lesson #13:Fear=Fuel, I mentioned that I had recently took on my fear of teaching in an elementary setting again.  If you have ever worked with kids before, you know that it can be a challenging and stressful, yet rewarding.  Though I have my good days and challenging days, everyday I can smile.  Everyday I find something to laugh about.  This keeps me going when I feel stressed out or wonder if the best that I’m giving is good enough.  

In addition to looking more attractive when you smile there are other benefits to smiling.  You can read the following articles to learn more about the benefits:

 

Another benefit that I didn’t find in the articles I shared is that you honor God when you smile. It is a blessing everyday to be able to smile.  God allowed your facial muscles to move and form such a beautiful smile.  When you share that smile with others, you are adding joy, happiness, encouragement, and so much positivity to their lives.  

I don’t know many of you who will read this blog post, however, one thing I do know about you is that you have a beautiful smile.  Share it with the world.  

Love always,

Tanika Monique

Always & Forever

Forever  & Always

Leave a Reply

