Lesson #10: The Importance of Selectivity

Standard

As I mentioned in my Abundance Mentality and Veganism post,  I get a lot of questions, concerns, and criticism about what I choose to fuel my body.  This got me to thinking about why I choose to eat healthy.  Where I work people bring food all the time.  I’m often offered foods that I no longer eat such as chocolate, bread, and meat dishes.

 

I respectfully decline these offers.  Sometimes people may ask why I choose not to eat certain things.  Being in those situations and writing about veganism inspired me to write about the importance of selectivity.

 

I used to eat just about anything. On a regular basis, I would eat meat at every meal, processed foods, candy, and fast food.  I rarely ate fruits and vegetables and drank entire pots of coffee by myself.  The reason I have no problem saying no to a lot of those offers for food is because I know what I looked and felt like when I ate a Standard American Diet.  Been there, done that, and don’t want to do it again.

 

In my teens and early twentys, I had constant numbness and tingling in my arms and legs from too much caffeine, could barely walk up a flight of stairs without huffing and puffing, had chronic bronchitis, and arthritis in my knees.  It’s only by God’s grace that I’ve become more selective about what I choose to feed my body, mind and soul. Once I adopted a plant-based diet, my health dramatically improved.  ًIt’s important to not only be selective about what we eat, but in all aspects of our lives.  

 

Every person, place and thing doesn’t deserve your time and energy.  You are a uniquely beautiful creation who deserves the very best. You deserve nourishing and fulfilling relationships, to be at your optimal health, to do work that you love with and for people that you love.  You are worthy of living your life on purpose and achieving your highest good.

 

Now that you know how worthy you are, decide what needs to stay and what exit stage left.  For me, I had to let go of what was holding me back in order to become a much better version of myself.  I had to let go of the junk food, toxic relationships, and bad habits because they were not contributing to my growth.  They were bringing me down.  

In all aspects of your life, it’s important to be selective.  Does your the friend you’ve known since you were in Kindergarten but constantly calls you to complain about her life really need to be in your life?  Are these violent movies and dramatic reality shows adding value to your life?  Will eating a double bacon cheeseburger make you healthy?  If the answer to these questions is no, then it’s time to let it go. 

One quote that I absolutely love is by T.Colin Campbell.  In his popular book, The China Study, he says “everything in food either creates health or disease.” This helps me to be more mindful of what I choose to put into my body.  I’ll take this a step further.  Everything in your life is either contributing to your growth or deterring it.  

How have you become more selective in your life?  In what ways has your life positively changed because of it?  Comment below.
Love Always,
Tanika Monique

Always & Forever

Forever & Always

Leave a Reply

