Lesson #8: Be Unbothered

Standard

In my introduction to this series, I stated that I write these lessons for myself, as well as for you.  A prayer that I have been saying to God lately is: “Let me be unbothered by the negativity of the people around me, difficult times, and life stressors.”

I often say to Tasha that you have let the negative and difficult things in life roll off you like water–to not let them get to you.  In a sense,  it is important to be unbothered. By this term, I do not me that you shouldn’t care about or disregard your troubles.  What I mean is that you don’t have to react in a negative way to the challenges that you will face on a daily basis.

Case in point:  Let’s say that you encounter a rude and disrespectful customer at work.  This person curses you out and threatens to get you fired, all because he tried to return an item without the receipt.  Your gut reaction may be to get an attitude with him: to tell him where he can shove that item.  You know, as well as I do, that this is not an appropriate response.  Responding in kind would leave both of you feeling angry and hurt and the problem would still exist.

But what if you were unbothered? What  if you were able to speak to the customer in a calm, cool, and collected way?  What if you were able to let his venomous words go in one ear and out the other?  For me, the ability to handle this type of high stress situation and many others with a peaceful calmness informing my every move would be wonderful.

 

 

That’s why I pray to God that no matter what obstacle, trial, challenge, or negativity I may face that I can be unbothered by it.  That I can be calm during the storm and be proactive rather than reactive.

I don’t know what you are going through.  You may be going through a nasty divorce, dealing with the loss of a loved one, or struggling to feed your family.  Whatever the case may be, be unbothered by it.  Trust that everything will work out on your behalf and remain calm. With calmness, you can make it through the storm.

“This is not your life, this is a moment in your life.”–Bronzegoddess01.  Stand firm in your belief that you can be unbothered by whatever temporary difficulties you may face.

Finally, I want to share with you some resources that have helped me to remain unbothered when I’m facing a challenge:

What tips, strategies, books do you use to help you remain unbothered by life’s challgenges?  Comment below.

Love always,

 

Tanika Monique

Always & Forever

Forever & Always

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Lesson #8: Be Unbothered

Leave a Reply

