Abundance Mentality and Veganism

Standard

As I mentioned in previous posts, I have been vegan, gluten, and caffeine free for a little over 3 years now. I’m often asked questions like, “Where do you get your protein?” Or “What do you eat?” Sometimes people have said to me that they don’t see how I could live on such a restrictive diet.

To this statement, I reply that it’s not restrictive, this lifestyle is rooted in abundance. I’ve been blessed to eat some of the best food in my life. I’ve tried so many different fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, and grains that I never would have if I’d stuck to the S.A.D. (Standard American Diet).

Some of the foods that I’ve been exposed to include plantains, brussel sprouts, spaghetti squash, zucchini, mayocoba beans, quinoa, kiwi, and kale.

After living this way for so long, I’ve come to the conclusion that in order to become a vegan you need to have an abundance mentality. People always tell me that they couldn’t be vegan because they love cheese or meat. I believe them. As Henry Ford once said, “If you think you can do a thing or if you think you can’t do a thing, you’re right.” To embrace this lifestyle you need to believe you can let go of all the unhealthy food you used to eat and add healthful foods.

Whenever you eliminate something from your life, it’s important to replace it with something better. For instance when I gave up caffeine, I replaced it with herbal teas and an herbal coffee Teeccino. I replaced carob powder for chocolate, romaine lettuce for tortillas, and cauliflower for rice. Instead of thinking of what’s missing, concentrate on what you’re gaining by changing your diet.

One of the greatest impacts being vegan has had in my life is that it allowed me to tap into my creativity in a whole new way. I’ve gotten to “veganize” some of my favorite foods. If you are a creative person and love to imagine the possibilities of what you can do with fruits, vegetables, nuts, and seeds. As you can see from my recipes, I have been able to create dishes that not only taste good, but also are good for me.

When you become vegan you are expanding the types of foods you can enjoy, adding years to your life, and improving your health. Take it one step at a time. Maybe have Meatless Mondays, then slowly add more plant based foods to your diet.

Some resources that helped me to make the switch to a plant based diet include:
The Veganist by Kathy Freston
Skinny Bitch by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin
Forks Over Knives
Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead

If you want to kick the caffeine habit, I highly recommend Caffeine Blues by Stephen Cherniske.

Be open-minded, you never know what good will come of it! I wish you much success on your journey to becoming a happier, healthier you!

Love Always,

Tanika Monique
Always & Forever
Forever & Always

One thought on “Abundance Mentality and Veganism

Leave a Reply

